Dexter’s Steakhouse, Carmarthen

It’s been a really long while since I wrote on this blog but as the hospitality sector is slowly returning to some form of normality, I thought it a good time to put pen back to paper or in this case finger tips back to keyboard and give my very much basic opinion on somewhere I have enjoyed very much during lock-down.

I’ve pretty much indulged in everything Dexter’s had to offer during this period. (It’s worth mentioning I’ve been really impressed with many of the independent businesses in the area, their innovative and tenacious attitude has been inspiring and not least with Dexter’s. Not only did lock-down strike but they were badly hit by the storms prior which meant they had to shut due to flooding!) I’ve ordered steaks, bbq bundles, three course meals, Sunday lunches and now have dined out on their decking.

Tempura prawns with Asian dipping sauce

One of the only starters I hadn’t tried was the tempura prawns. You can see why this was never a takeaway option, it would have been tricky to re-create at a home.

Presentation, admittedly a bit of a novelty but I love it and now might insist that all my prawn dishes be presented to me like little soldiers! I’m super fussy when it comes to batter, but this was lovely, light and not at all greasy, perfect with the salty Asian dipping sauce.

Steak with Bearnaise sauce – could Bearnaise be the king of steak sauces???

You won’t be surprised that for mains I went for the steak (I’m a sucker for steak at the best of times) with Bearnaise sauce and the obligatory chips. It was good, I would potentially have liked it rarer but really, only a few seconds less. The Bearnaise was rich and creamy and a perfect chip dipping accompaniment.

Dexter’s cheese burger

Mr C. can rarely resist a burger when it’s on the menu and no matter how often I advise against this choice, he is, often, disappointed. Thankfully, this did not turn out to be the case. Every aspect of it was met with great approval, from the bread to the slab of brie, the sticky onion jam and the all important beef patties themselves.

It also came with a truffle aioli which I stole quite a bit of, because lets face it, who can resist truffle?

For dessert, as always was a shared affair. We ordered the yogurt pannacotta.

Pannacotta

This, honestly was the perfect end to a pretty indulgent feast, with pistachio nuts for texture and the best honeycomb, none of that break your teeth stuff. It was light and refreshing.

My next mission is to book a table in the actual restaurant. (It’s lovely on the decking but the unpredictable Welsh weather had us running for cover a couple of times) They are also taking part in the eat out, to help out scheme on Tuesday’s and Wednesday’s through out August which is even more reason to get booking.

Leave a comment